Reunion Weekend Graphic
Save the date for October 5-6, 2018

From a Category 5 storm to a flood of generosity
In the midst of Hurricane Irma this September, we made the difficult decision to cancel the 2017 Alumni Reunion Weekend, celebrating the classes of 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007. We reflect on what would have been the largest MD reunion in USF history, but the safety of our alumni and families had to come first. We hope that you and yours fared well during Irma and the storms that have followed. 

The celebrating classes demonstrated understanding and overwhelming generosity through making investments to their class scholarship funds – raising a total of over $48,000.  Our reunion planning team is so grateful and would like to make it up to you with an even bigger celebration next year!

Our biggest yet is getting even bigger
Mark your calendars for October 5-6, 2018! We’ve already begun planning our biggest reunion yet! We look forward to double the celebration, where 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007, will be joined by the classes of 1978, 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003 and 2008 for Medicine Alumni Reunion Weekend.

You’ll have the opportunity to reconnect with your classmates and celebrate aboard the Yacht Starship, tour the medical college and attend the Farewell Awards Dinner on campus.

Outstanding Service Award 2017: Sylvia Campbell MD '77
We are pleased to announce Sylvia Campbell MD ’77 as the 2017 Outstanding Service Award recipient. Dr. Campbell has been in surgical practice for over 30 years in the Tampa Bay area. She has attending privileges at St Joseph’s Hospital, St. Joseph’s Women’s Hospital and Florida Hospital in Tampa. While she is well-experienced and up-to-date in all aspects of general surgery, Dr. Campbell has a special interest in the surgical treatment of breast cancer.

Dr. Campbell is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She has served on the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors for the American College of Surgeons and currently serves on the Advisory Council of Operation Giving Back of the American College of Surgeons. She was instrumental in the early development of Trauma Systems in the state and country, and served as the Chair of the Florida Committee of Trauma as well as the national Chair of the Injury Prevention Subcommittee of the American College of Surgeons.

Other activities include her extensive contribution to the local community as an active volunteer and President of the Board of the Judeo-Christian Clinic, a free medical clinic in Tampa. Dr. Campbell has served on the Board of the Medical Benevolence Foundation of the Presbyterian Church, and as an elder in the Palm Ceia Presbyterian Church. She has served on mission trips to Haiti and Uganda since 1996, and has been involved in helping children travel to the US for life saving care.

Dr. Campbell currently serves as the President of the Board of Directors of Village Partners International, a 501C not-for-profit, inter-faith organization which provides health care, education, housing and self-sustaining skills to the Village of Papoli in Uganda, medical care in Haiti, and support of Beth El Mission in Wimauma, Florida. Dr. Campbell believes strongly in giving back to others, both in the local community as well as the world.

We look forward to honoring her in October 2018 along with the 2018 recipient.

Submit a nomination for the 2018 Outstanding Service Award here.


Reunion Class Champions
We want to thank the 2017 class champions, who worked diligently with us to encourage their classmates to attend reunion and support their class scholarship funds.

Sylvia Campbell MD ’77

John Duncan MD ’77

Michael Rush MD ’77

James Amontree MD ’82

Margarita Cabrera-Cancio MD ’82

David McGrew MD ’82

Carlos Moas MD ’82

Amado Suarez MD ’82

Sion “Bill” Carter MD ’87

Roger Greene MD ’87

Andrew Messina MD ’87

George Keough MD ’92

David Lowry MD ’92

John Miliziano MD ’92

Douglas Rodriguez MD ’92

Ricardo Gonzalez MD ’97

Mylissa Graber MD ’97

Michael Ison MD ’97

Richard Layfield MD ’97

Ryan Secan MD ’97

Lara Katzin MD ’02

Laura Gruen Mosher MD ’02

Damian Caraballo MD ’07

Melissa McGettigan MD ’07

Kurtis Mohr MD ’07

Are you interested in helping us with Reunion 2018? Please contact Catherine Warner at